Glasgow

28Dec09

Buchanan Street-main shopping area in Glasgow

Glasgow is a city I’ve been fortunate enough to go to a few times growing up-the majority of my family lives just outside the city.  Glasgow reminds me a lot of Vancouver in many ways-it’s not a giant metropolis by any means (and is often dwarfed by Edinburgh or London) but it offers a bit of everything-shopping, great restaurants, and more booze than you’ll ever want (TIP:  Never challenge a Scot to a drink-off.  You will end up flat on the floor before they even need a pee break).

When I mentioned earlier that I was going on vacation; well, this is where I’m headed!  I’m flying back to see my family at the beginning of January.  It will be a family trip mainly-which I’m actually looking forward to.  I haven’t been back since I was 15-so I’m not looking forward to the “wow!  look how big you are!  I remember when you were just a wee one!” comments from my relatives (who does, really?).

I don’t enjoy touristy vacations-usually when I go to a new place I do all the tourist stuff at the very beginning, then just enjoy wandering around different neighbourhoods and “acting like a local”.  That’s why I always enjoy my second trip to a place more than the first.  There’s no need to rush around and get things done, you can just relax and enjoy the local atmosphere.  The moments I remember from my trips aren’t seeing the sights-it’s enjoying food and drinks in little hole-in-the-wall restaurants, hitting up my favorite dessert place every time we pass it (2yrs later and my friend still won’t eat mangoes), getting lost and finding my way around again.

Some of the things I’m looking forward to:
-Seeing my fam
-Tea at the Mackintosh (famous Scottish architect) tearoom
-Hitting up Topshop/Miss Selfridges/Office/Vivienne Westwood/H&M
-Scotch
-Art galleries in Edinburgh
-Did I mention scotch?

No Responses Yet to “Glasgow”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

