Generation A

08Nov09

Now you young twerps want a new name for your generation? Probably not, you just want jobs, right? Well, the media do us all such tremendous favors when they call you Generation X, right? Two clicks from the very end of the alphabet. I hereby declare you Generation A, as much at the beginning of a series of astonishing triumphs and failures as Adam and Eve were so long ago.

-Kurt Vonnegut, Syracuse University Commencement, 1994

It’s funny how ends are almost always a beginning as well.  Right now, I am two months shy of graduating university, something that has crept up on me faster than I ever thought would.  Everywhere around me there’s talk of changes, and this is the first time that I haven’t known exactly what is going to happen next.  It’s pretty scary shit!  At the end of high school, I knew exactly what uni I would get into, what I wanted to study, and what I was going to do with it afterwards.  Fastforward 3.5 years later, and all that has completely changed.  You know that cheesy saying “Life is what happens when you’re making plans”?  Well, it’s pretty spot on if you ask me.  Now I’m trying to navigate post-grad options and twiddle my thumbs waiting to hear if I’ll even be in Vancouver come next fall (which, as much as it rains here, is really where I want to be).

I read this quote a few months ago on the back of a Douglas Coupland book, and it has really stuck with me since then.  If I could sum up how I feel about life right now, it’s there.  Things are coming to an end, but there’s so much to look forward ahead of me!

I’m not sure what this blog will end up becoming-probably just a place to post what I’m thinking about or interested in at the moment-be it fashion, food, work, or just life in general.  So bear with me!  This blog will be in transition as much as my life is right now!

No Responses Yet to “Generation A”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

